Nominations are being sought for the 2020 Casimir Funk Natural Sciences Award

The Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences of America (PIASA) Casimir Funk Natural Sciences Award identifies and honors an outstanding scientist of Polish origin (Polish born or of Polish ancestry) living and working in the United States or Canada. The nominee should have contributed in a major way to scientific research and be widely recognized.

Nominations:

- 1) Can be made by anyone (PIASA member or not), from anywhere in the world.
- 2) Should include **a nomination letter** for only one candidate stating the achievements on which the nomination is based and **a brief** *Curriculum Vita* of the nominee.
- 3) Will remain under consideration for 4 years.
- 4) Nominations of women scientists for the Funk Award in Natural Sciences are especially encouraged.
- 5) Should be sent by email prior to the **November 15, 2020** deadline to the Chair of the Casimir Funk Natural Sciences Award Selection Committee: Dr. Hanna Chroboczek Kelker, kelker01@verizon.net

Background information:

The previous winners of the Casimir Funk Award are as follows:

- 1995 Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Nobel Prize Laureate (Chemistry) Cornell University
- 1996 Dr. Alexander Wolszczan, (Astronomy) Pennsylvania State University
- 1997 Dr. Hilary Koprowski, (Virology, Immunology) Thomas Jefferson University
- 1998 Dr. Peter T. Wolczanski, (Chemistry) Cornell University
- 2001 Dr. Andrew Wojcicki, (Chemistry) Ohio State University
- 2003 Dr. Waclaw Szybalski, (Molecular Biology) McArdle Laboratory for Cancer Research
- 2005 Dr. Benoit Mandelbrodt, (Mathematics) Yale University
- 2008 Dr. Frank Wilczek, Nobel Prize Laureate (Physics) Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- 2013 Dr. Maria Siemionow, (Medicine) Cleveland Clinic
- 2014 Dr. Zbigniew Darzynkiewicz, (Cell Biology) Brander Cancer Research Institute
- 2016 Dr. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, (Chemistry) Carnegie Mellon University
- 2017 Dr. Andrew V. Schally, Nobel Prize Laureate (Endocrinology), University of Miami
- 2018 Dr. Krzysztof Palczewski (Ophthalmology), University of California-Irvine
- 2019 Dr. Jack William Szostak, Nobel Prize Laureate (Physiology or Medicine), Harvard Medical School

Casimir Funk (1884-1967), for whom the Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences' Natural Sciences Award is named, made important contributions to the fields of hormone research, enzymology and chemical synthesis. However he is best known for his pioneering research that lead to the discovery of vitamins and for defining the role of vitamins in nutrition. Funk postulated that nutritional deficiency diseases "can be prevented and cured by the addition of certain preventive substances which we call *vitamines*. The term "*vitamin*" (coined by Funk from "*vita*", latin for life, and "*amine*") has become accepted as the description of a group of functionally related but structurally distinct substances. His hypothesis has had a major impact on the direction of research in a field that, before his discoveries, was filled with controversy. His work has guided the developing science of nutrition and had an impact on biochemistry and medicine.

The recipient of the 2020 Funk Award will be recognized at PIASA's 8th World Congress of Polish Studies in Białystok, Poland, June 10-13, 2021.